A 2022 Road-map to the CCNA Certification

CCNA or Certified Cisco Network Associate is a certification course that Cisco, the leading vendor of network solutions for companies and firms, offers. This course facilitates an interested candidate to learn about various technological domains such as automation, networking, and security. Various CCNA courses online are available and candidates can take them up to earn a CCNA certification. 

There are a few top-ranking online platforms in the United States to which you find relevant educational material. One credible source of getting information is Blackboard DCCCD eCampus.

What is the CCNA Certification?

The CCNA certification allows candidates to learn the basics of CCNA and prepare themselves for recent network advancements. This course lays the foundation for Network Engineers. The Cisco CCNA certification course validates an individual’s skill, ability, and capacity to fix, configure and troubleshoot networks. Most organisations pay attention to certification courses while hiring employees. The certifications within CCNA focus on the following:

  • Routing and Switching
  • Service providers
  • Security
  • Voice 
  • Video
  • Data Centres
  • Wireless
  • Collaboration

Every business around the world relies on IT services to function efficiently. It is the job of CCNA professionals to ensure this. Working on the technical side ensures network devices like switches, firewall functions, and routers operate effectively. Hence, taking the CCNA course lets candidates gain knowledge about the functioning of the network systems of the IT sector. 

Certification for CCNA

To get the CCNA certification, a candidate should pass the particular exams associated with this course. The Cisco Certified Network Associate v1.0 (CCNA 200-301) is one such exam. It is a single exam and consists of 120 questions. This exam tests the knowledge and skills of a candidate related to the following topics:

  • IP Connectivity: OSPFv2, IP routing
  • IP Services: QoS, SNMP, DHCP, NTP
  • Network Fundamentals: cabling, routers, switches, IPv4 and IPv6, UDP and TCP
  • Security Fundamentals: port security, VPNs, wireless security
  • Automation and Programmability: JSON, Chef, Puppet, SDN, REST APIs
  • Network Access: Ether Channel, VLANs, and trunking

What are the Eligibility Criteria for CCNA Certification?

As of now, there are no formal requirements for an interested candidate to take the CCNA exam. Since most organisations pay attention to certification courses while hiring employees, taking the CCNA certification course would benefit candidates who want to gain expertise in the IT sector network system. 

To take the exam, candidates need to know the fundamentals regarding the following topics:

  • Knowledge of IP addresses
  • Knowledge of Internet Usage and basic skills in it
  • Fundamental Navigation abilities of computer operating systems
  • Fundamental Knowledge of a computer

Building a Roadmap to CCNA Certification:

  • Study for the Exam

Candidates should focus on the main topics of the exam – IP Connectivity, IP Services, Network Fundamentals, Security Fundamentals, Automation and Programmability, and Network Access. Candidates can take the CCNA course online directly through Cisco or Cisco’s certified partners like Koenig solutions. Candidates will receive e-learning materials for their studies. The CCNA course fees differ from site to site. 

  •  Apply and Pay for the Exam

After preparing all the prerequisites for the exam, candidates should register for the exam through Cisco directly or through certified Cisco partners such as Koenig. The CCNA certification cost is around $300. Candidates can pay the amount beforehand or can pay the amount after scheduling their exam in a Pearson VUE certification centre. 

  • Attend the Examination Process

Candidates must take the examination at Pearson VUE certification centres or through other certified Cisco partners. It is an online exam, and it will be proctored. The duration is 120 minutes. 

  • Attaining the Results

The candidate will be considered to have passed the exam if they score 80% or above. The certification will be valid for a period of 3 years.

  • Recertification Process

Candidates should recertify before the expiration date of the CCNA certification. To do this, they need to pass at least one of the exams mentioned below:

The CCNA Certification Exam again

  1. A CCIE lab exam
  2. A professional concentration exam
  3. A technology core exam

Candidates can apply for recertification by earning 30 Continuing Education credits as well. Candidates can earn these by taking CCNA courses online. 

Earning a CCNA certification is highly beneficial for a candidate interested in becoming a Network Engineer and gaining expertise in the IT sector. The process might seem costly, complicated, and overwhelming for some but the rewards associated with having a CCNA certification are worth it. If you want your career to progress, you should take a CCNA course online and prepare for the certification exam.

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button